Iowa Broadcasters Association

Complete Story


Six Iowa TV stations take home Emmy Awards

Several television stations and their dedicated staffers were honored with Upper Midwest Emmy Awards on Saturday, October 5th at the 20th Anniversary Gala held at the Mystic Center in Prior Lake, Minnesota.

Iowa stations receiving awards were:

KIMTKIMT 3 News, Mason City for Daytime Newscast “Recovering from Tornadoes.”  Honorees included Tyler Utzka – Anchor, Brandon Libby – Meteorologist, Arielle Harrison – Anchor, DeeDee Stiepan – Reporter, Annalisa Pardo – Reporter, Ben Weber – Director, Nathin Voeller – Director, Ryan Odeen – Producer, and Jaime Copley – News Director.


KCAUKCAU 9, Sioux City for Evening Newscast “KCAU 9 News at 10:00 3/14/19.”  Honorees included Bridget Bennett – Anchor/Reporter/Producer, Tim Seaman – Anchor/Producer, Scott Larson – Meteorologist, Jesse Krull – Sports Anchor, Kayla Samek – Producer, Zach Hicks – Director, Johnathan Mack – Chief Photographer, Rebecca Pryor – Reporter, and Andrew Bottger – Assignment Editor.


KGANKGAN CBS2, Cedar Rapids for Breaking News “Iowa City Tornado Composite.” Honorees included Terry Swails – Meteorologist, Nick Stewart – Storm Chaser/Photojournalist/Meteorologist, Bevan Lucas – Producer, Scott Zimdar – Photojournalist, and Rebecca Kopelman – Meteorologist.


IPTVIowa Public Television won four Emmys.  The first for Children/Teen Program “Kids Clubhouse Adventures: Sound.”  Honored for that award was Dan Wardell – Creator/Host, Abby Brown – Co-host, Debra Herbold – Executive Producer, Theresa Knight – Producer, Cameron McCoy – Producer, Scott Faine – Puppeteer, David Feingold – Editor, Jim Leasure – Sound, Brent Willett – Graphics, Phil Blobaum – Videographer, Darrin Clouse – Videographer, and Rick Fuller – Videographer.

The second was in the Historic/Cultural/Nostalgic – Program Feature/Segment category for “Greetings From Iowa – Sikh in the Spotlight.”  Recognized for this Emmy were Tyler Brinegar – Producer/Videographer/Editor, Darrin Clouse – Videographer, Jim Leasure – Audio Mix, and Andrea Coyle – Executive Producer.

IPTV also won in Public/Current/Community Affairs -Program Feature/Segment for “Greetings From Iowa – The Oakdale Community Choir.” Honored with were Tyler Brinegar – Producer/Editor, Darrin Clouse – Videographer, and Andrea Coyle – Executive Producer.

Lastly, Iowa Public Television won in the Interstitial category for “Great American Read – Miniature Books Interstitial.” Honored were Cameron McCoy – Producer/Videographer, Debra Herbold – Executive Producer, and Sarah Lewis – Voice Over Talent.


KCCIKCCI 8 News, Des Moines for Interview/Discussion for “Close Up: The Gun Debate.” Recognized were John Houghton – Photographer/Editor, Shaina Humphries – Anchor, Kimberly Steenhoek – Producer, Julia Manning – Producer, Erin Moynihan – Executive Producer, Robbie Rissman – Photographer, and Glen Biermann – Photographer.

KCCI also won for Writer – News “Eric Hanson’s This is Iowa” with Eric Hanson – Writer.


WHOTVLastly, Channel 13 News WHO, Des Moines won an Emmy for Public/Current/Community Affairs -News Single Story/Series for “ALICE: Hidden In Plain Sight.” Honored were Randy Schumacher – Photojournalist, Erin Kiernan – Reporter, and Eric Gooden – Photojournalist.

A complete list of winners can be found on the Upper Midwest Emmy’s website. Congratulations to all the hardworking television members for this great recognition!

Printer-Friendly Version